The Commission

The Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace (GCSC) is helping to promote mutual awareness and understanding among the various cyberspace communities working on issues related to international cybersecurity. By finding ways to link the dialogues on international security with the new communities created by cyberspace, the GCSC has a genuine opportunity to contribute to an essential global task: supporting policy and norms coherence related to the security and stability in and of cyberspace.

Chaired Co-Chairs Michael Chertoff and Latha Reddy, the Commission comprises 26 prominent Commissioners representing a wide range of geographic regions as well as government, industry, technical and civil society stakeholders with legitimacy to speak on different aspects of cyberspace.

The GCSC will be linked to existing initiatives, such as the Global Commission on Internet Governance and the London Process, through Special Representatives.

The Secretariat

The Commission is initiated by two independent think tanks, The Hague Centre for Strategic Studies (HCSS) and the EastWest Institute (EWI). Under the direction of Alexander Klimburg (HCSS), Director of the Initiative, and Bruce McConnell (EWI), Co-Director, the Secretariat provides operational support to the Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace.



The Commission is supported by numerous funders, who facilitate its work and research. The Hague Centre for Strategic Studies, the EastWest Institute and the Commissioners would like to recognise and acknowledge the following funders for their generous support.


  • Government of The Netherlands
  • Microsoft Corporation
  • Cyber Security Agency Singapore
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France
  • Internet Society (ISOC)
  • Afilias


  • Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
  • Ministry of Internal Affairs and
    Communications of Japan


  • African Union Commission
  • Black Hat USA
  • European Union Delegation to the UN in
  • Global Forum on Cyber Expertise
  • Google
  • Municipality of The Hague
  • Packet Clearing House
  • Tel Aviv University
  • United Nations Institute for Disarmament

These organizations and institutions are committed to advancing the debate and putting forward creative solutions to some of the most pressing challenges in the stability of cyberspace.


Research Advisory Group

The Research Advisory Group (RAG) fulfills a critical research and execution element of the Commission. It functions as the Commission’s academic backbone and links the GCSC to the wider research community. The RAG engages in scientific research to support the deliberations and publications of the Commissioners and, through its outreach and community engagement, also fulfills a crucial component of the advocacy mission of the Commission.

Members are able to respond to requests for proposals commissioned by the GCSC, as well as generate their own ideas for further enquiry. Select members will also be invited to provide testimony to the Commission at the Full Commission Meetings (twice per year).

The core interaction of the Research Advisory Group is founded on an email list( that consolidates the key subject areas the Commission focusses its work on. Further information on the content of the RAG list is explained below.

The list is moderated by the RAG Deputy Chairs. The moderators are responsible for communication in the list, including coordination of the research content and proposals that are circulated within the RAG List. The RAG Deputy Chairs are:

  • Ms. Liis Vihul, Deputy Chair of the RAG for Law
  • Ms. Marilia Maciel, Deputy Chair of the RAG for Internet Governance
  • Mr. Hugo Zylberberg, Deputy Chair of the RAG for International Peace & Security
  • Mr. Koichiro Komiyama, Deputy Chair of the RAG for Technical and Information Security
  • The Research Advisory Group is chaired by Mr. Sean Kanuck, who reports to the Commission and the Secretariat, and participates in all Commission meetings.