The Commission

The Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace (GCSC) is helping to promote mutual awareness and understanding among the various cyberspace communities working on issues related to international cybersecurity. By finding ways to link the dialogues on international security with the new communities created by cyberspace, the GCSC has a genuine opportunity to contribute to an essential global task: supporting policy and norms coherence related to the security and stability in and of cyberspace.

Chaired by Marina Kaljurand, and Co-Chairs Michael Chertoff and Latha Reddy, the Commission comprises 26 prominent Commissioners representing a wide range of geographic regions as well as government, industry, technical and civil society stakeholders with legitimacy to speak on different aspects of cyberspace.

The GCSC will be linked to existing initiatives, such as the Global Commission on Internet Governance and the London Process, through Special Representatives.

The Secretariat

The Commission is initiated by two independent think-thanks, The Hague Centre for Strategic Studies (HCSS) and the EastWest Institute (EWI). Under the direction of Alexander Klimburg (HCSS), Director of the Initiative, and Bruce McConnell (EWI), Co-Director, the Secretariat provides operational support to the Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace.


The Commission is supported through a partnership with the government of the Netherlands and Microsoft, and also by sponsors, such as the Internet Society (ISOC), as well as supporters, such as Packet Clearing House, who uphold its work and research. These organizations and institutions are committed to advancing the debate and putting forward creative solutions to some of the most pressing challenges in the stability of cyberspace.

Research Advisory Group

The global Research Advisory Group is a critical execution element of the Commission. It will actively support its research, as well as inform the deliberations of the Commission.

It is constituted of experts from across the world in cyberpolicy and -security, international law, Internet governance, and technical and information security practices.

More information about the involved researchers will follow soon.

Experts and institutes interested in joining the research network of the Commission can contact the Secretariat.